Article: The Save Icon
As you update your project schedule, you will note that the Save icon at the far left side of the row of icons turns gray . This indicates the updates are in the process of being saved.
The system automatically saves data every few seconds at which time the icon is grayed-out . The black Save icon indicates your data has been saved.